2014 Introduction

Hi, there and Happy 2014!

My name is Noelyn and this is my first blog post ever (go me!). I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a while now, but life things, especially over the last couple of years, keep preventing that from happening. I went back to college to finish up my English degree, my husband just recently finished his Master’s degree, and, oh, I had a baby, my little Jelly Bean 🙂 Between this and working full time I’ve had little time for personal anything, especially reading. But now H is done his degree, JB has gained some independence and good sleep habits (yay!), and I’ve managed to get in a good rhythm with school and work.

I’m just about finished my Bachelor’s in English, and I’m planning to continue on to graduate school to get my MA in writing. I’ve always been passionate about writing, and I’ve decided to take the leap and try to make it a career, veering somewhat from the teaching pathway I’m currently on. There are a lot of things about working in schools I love, but mainly the kids (I work with high school kids now). They’re a blast to get to know, they teach me infinite patience, and more often than not are eager to learn, even if they act like they aren’t. I get the opportunity to act as a teacher, a counselor, a mediator, and a disciplinarian on a daily basis, all of which have helped build me as an individual. And I truly believe that learning to work well with kids of all ages, especially en masse, will make me a better parent to my daughter. But my ultimate goal has always been to teach at the college level, and it’s a goal I don’t see a reason to put off pursuing any longer. So, here I am, taking on my first writing venture. This blog will mainly be book reviews, but I’ll probably throw in little tidbits here and there if I find something worth sharing. I generally read across most genres, but mostly I read YA because those books are usually part of a series and I like when a story gets drawn out over a few books.

After my daughter was born, I spent a lot of time reading because it was hard to do much else. She slept a lot, usually on me, so doing productive house things was pretty out of the question for the first couple of months. Fortunately, my husband, my rock, was able to take on the things I usually did around the house. Once we got into the rhythm of having an infant, and once Jelly Bean became comfortable napping on her own, things slooooowly got back to normal. But I was happy to be able to pick up reading again because I hadn’t found many new books to enjoy recently.

So what does this newfound time mean? It’s time to get cracking on those wish lists! Between my library, Kindle, Oyster, and Nook apps I have a TON of stuff that needs attention. My Goodreads goal for 2014 is 52 books, so I’ll be posting here at least once a week, probably on Sundays.

You can see my full To Read list here, but my top ten (for now, anyway) in no particular order:

1. The Graceling series by Kristin Cashore

2.  Fragments by Dan Wells (Book #2 in the Partials series)

3.  1984 by George Orwell

4.  Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

5.  The One by Kiera Cass (The Selection series #3, due out in May)

6.  Matched by Ally Condie (I’ve started it twice now, I just keep getting stuck somewhere in the middle)

7.  Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. (Gone Girl disappointed me, but I’ve heard good things about this one!)

8. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

9.  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

10.  Panic by Lauren Oliver (Love her! Due out in March)

If you’ve read this far, I hope that means you might be interested in reading more and following me on Goodreads. I’ll be posting reviews and other stuff at least once a week. My goal is one book a week, and I’m going to do my best to stick to that.

Happy reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “2014 Introduction

  1. vsackett1

    Congratulations on your return to writing. I look forward to reading your reviews. Oh, I love you.

    Like

  2. The Graceling series and The book thief are such beautiful books!!! can’t wait for the one here are some banners you can grab from my site too show of your favourite books:

    Like

Leave a Reply

