Does Reading Aloud Really Matter?

So I know I’m a bit late, but since Mother’s Day just passed (which I unfortunately spent writing a nice long final paper), I thought I’d post something that focused a bit more on the area of my life that’s most important: my daughter.

My husband and I began reading with our daughter when she was around 9 months old to help with her speech development. Now, at almost 17 months old, she’s become obsessed with Ten Busy Whizzy Bugs (understandable, it’s a pretty cool book). The second my husband or I attempt to take it from her to do something silly like eat or sleep, she completely loses her you-know-what.

But as frustrating as the toddler tantrums can be, this gives me a lot of hope for the future. I was raised with a love of reading. My father and mother always had books nearby, and I was always amazed at how quickly my dad could blow through a book in one sitting. This is something I really hope to pass along to my little Jellybean.

Print

My husband and I take turns reading to JB each night before bed, and she has such a blast turning the pages, pointing at pictures, and saying “Dis?” when she’s curious about something. While we may not manage the full 15 minutes a day this infographic suggests, the 5 minutes or so she can manage before getting distracted still gives us the bonding time that’s so important and certainly helps with her language and cognitive development.

So while this post really has nothing to do with book reviews, it still focuses on what got me to the point where I want to write them. My parents always read to me before bed, my dad had me on his lap typing on the computer at age 3 (which was a lot more significant in 1986 than it is now, I suppose), and no matter how bad I was, my mom could never justify taking away my books when I got sent to my room.

These bonding experiences from childhood have carried over into my adult life in a new way because now instead of reading to each other, at family gatherings we talk about what we’ve read in the months since we’ve last seen each other. These are important moments because not only are we spending quality family time together and discussing our interests, we’re learning from one another, as well. Broadening horizons is something that’s important for anyone at any age to be open to, and a desire to do this is the main reason I tend to read and review books across so many different genres. New likes, dislikes, and ideas are created when I venture into new arenas, and even if I end up hating a book, making the effort is all that matters.

But for now, I’ll work on cutting the Ten Busy Whizzy Bugs cord and broaden my own daughter’s horizons.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Inforgraphics, kids, Reading aloud

One response to “Does Reading Aloud Really Matter?

  1. Vsa126

    Your grandfather said “the most important thing is to read to your child.”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

